Blog News Rugby Union

Odogwu enjoyed first Sharks outing

Debutant Paolo Odogwu has said he really enjoyed his first outing for Sale Sharks in Friday’s win over Harlequins.

The youngster arrived in the north-west from Premiership rivals Leicester Tigers, and spent time training with the academy before the first team arrived back after their summer break.

After an impressive display at the AJ Bell Stadium, Odogwu revealed the words of encouragement given to him by Director of Rugby Steve Diamond.

“He told me just to back myself, and that I wouldn’t be playing if I wasn’t good enough. He said just keep doing what I’ve been doing in pre-season and in the games so far and just believe in yourself, so that’s what I tried to do.”

The winger was replaced by Nev Edwards with ten minutes remaining, and left the field to a standing ovation from the AJ Bell crowd.

“It was surreal. Coming off and getting that ovation, I’m surprised it was for me to be honest! It was great to get out. I made a few breaks so it was fun for me – I really enjoyed it.”

Speaking of the victory, Odogwu was pleased with the performance from the team: “We rectified everything we did wrong last week and it showed today.”

The Sharks take on Gloucester in Round Three of the Aviva Premiership next week, and will be eager to avenge the 12-11 loss that ended last season’s perfect home record.

Ahead of the tie, the England under-20s star was confident: “If was play like we did today, we should get the win again.

“We’ll review our game, and then get in to training on Monday and see what Gloucester showed us from their last game here, and hopefully we’ll do the same against them.”

 

0 comments on “Odogwu enjoyed first Sharks outing

Leave a Reply

