Blog

“Unbelievable to be playing again” says Longbottom

Kieran Longbottom has said it’s “unbelievable” to be back playing rugby since joining Sale after a long spell on the sidelines.

The Australian-born prop spent two years at Premiership rivals Saracens, but long-term injuries limited him to just five appearances in that time.

“Last year I could hardly walk down the shops, now I’m able to run around and I’m just so happy I’m able to do it.”I’m so thankful to everyone that’s supported me and stuck by me, and the club for having faith in me. It’s just amazing to get that vote of support from upstairs and that belief in me.”

At 30 years of age, Longbottom joins the club with plenty of experience, but insists he’s still got a lot to give: “I know I’ve got a lot more left in me, I know I’m not at my limit yet.

“I’ve got a few more levels to step up, and bring my game up those few levels, so that’s all I want to do.”

Longbottom has featured from the replacements in Sale’s two opening Premiership fixtures, and insists his only goal at the club is to help it reach new heights.

“If I can do anything for the team that’s going to get us further, then I’ll be willing to do that. I just want to push the team forward.”

“If there are any personal goals, they’re going to come from being a good team man and pushing the team forward. Doing anything individually does nothing – nothing great comes from it.”

Speaking ahead of facing Gloucester on Friday night, the tight-head prop is expecting another physical battle after last week’s win against Harlequins.

“They’ve got some big forwards and we’re going to have to meet that, and bring that intensity we showed on Friday night. If we can keep doing that, we’ll be solid against any team.”

This article was written for the Sale Sharks website, and the original post can be viewed here.

 

0 comments on ““Unbelievable to be playing again” says Longbottom

Leave a Reply

