Blog News Rugby Union

Sharks on right track says McGuigan

Sale Sharks full back Byron McGuigan is confident the side are on the right track to continue their positive start to the season.

The Sharks travel to Bath for tonight’s game and are coming off the back of a 34-30 victory over Leicester Tigers.

“We’ve got a lot more we want to achieve,” said the Namibian-born full back.

“We want to win this weekend, then when we’re in Europe we’ll look back at that first block of fixtures and be happy if we’re in the top four.”

Speaking about Friday’s game at the Rec, McGuigan believed his side have what it takes to turn Todd Blackadder’s men over on their own patch.

“I believe in this team, and I believe we can only get better. We’ve been working on the small areas of our game and we’ll keep working, so we just need to take that in to the game against Bath.

Our performance against Leicester was really good, especially defensively. Bath are a strong attacking side so we need to take that same approach in to this game.”

The Scotland 7’s international has featured in every game since he joined the Sharks in the summer from Premiership rivals Exeter Chiefs, but insists he hasn’t hit his best form just yet.

“I’m obviously happy with the game time I’m getting, but I feel like I can bring a lot more to this team,” he explained.

“I probably haven’t played to the best of my ability yet but it’s important that we’re winning – it’s a team thing. My moments will come this season but I’m enjoying playing and I’m enjoying being part of the team.”

This article was written for the Sale Sharks website, and the original post can be viewed here.

0 comments on “Sharks on right track says McGuigan

Leave a Reply

