Blog Interviews News Rugby Union

Mitchell targets Bristol clash

James Mitchell has said he is looking forward to the challenge that the team face when they host Bristol on New Year’s Day.

The Sharks are without a win in seven games, while bottom-of-the-table Bristol have won their last three in all competitions, including a first Premiership victory last weekend.

“Obviously it was tough to go down to Northampton and lose, especially when we left a lot of points out there,” said Mitchell.

“This is a challenge to look forward to. It’s getting close now but I think if we stick to our detail then hopefully we’ll put a good performance in.

“We’re looking at ourselves rather than at what Bristol are going to do, and we need to get that right first.”

Mitchell is set to start at scrum-half for the first time in this year’s Premiership, with Sam James at fly-half creating a new partnership for the club.

“I need to get my basics right and then hopefully I can create good rugby for the team,” said the 21-year-old.

“I’m really looking forward to it because it’s what you want as a young lad coming up, and I’m grateful that Sale are giving me that opportunity.

“I’ve known Sam (James) since I was about 15 so there’s a lot of trust there. I like having him outside me because he’s a very natural footballer, so I’m really looking forward to it.”

Sale will be looking to achieve their first victory since October when Bristol travel to the north-west, and Mitchell hopes a bumper crowd can help kick the year off with a win.

“It makes a big difference when we’re got a big crowd cheering us on. Hopefully there’s a big turnout to help us out at the AJ Bell Stadium.”

This article was written for the Sale Sharks website, and the original post can be viewed here.

0 comments on “Mitchell targets Bristol clash

Leave a Reply

